A spot of yarn lust…

Last week I went for a tiny weekend jolly and bought some yarn with which I am planning on knitting a shoe bag. It is beautiful. You know what? it looks like this:

It reminds me of sea ballets (Le Corsaire & Ondine, more Ondine than Le Corsaire) and bits of Swan Lake with all the greens and blues mingling into the more regal fuschias and purples. I’ve found a scrummy cable pattern to use which reminds me of pointe shoe ribbons and Balanchine’s Serenade and I can’t wait to get started on it.

The other day I was overcome by a mad urge to go on a yarn splurge. It’s been a while. In fact, it’s been about two years. I kind of lost my knitting mojo a bit and then I knitted up my stash and went on a strict yarn diet, only investing in things for specific projects. Well anyway, Thursday I’d had enough and, as I said, was overcome by a yarn urge. So I took myself off down to iKnit (http://www.iknit.org.uk/) for a spot of coveting if nothing else.

*ahem*

This lovely beast (it’s a Zauerball sock yarn) is going to be a pair of legwarmers. Mostly I am excited by the fact that I can wind two balls at once out of this because you shove a pencil through the middle and the yarn comes either side. Totally cool. I’m also going to have a bash and see if adopting the ‘afterthought heel’ principle will work to put a stirrup in them. I have no bones about tube legwarmers but I prefer the ones with heel holes. We shall see how that one goes.

I’d settled on the above and then… oh, then, I fell completely and utterly in total lust with this:

This is a Manos Serena 60% baby alpaca 40% pima cotton. I mean there was literal flat on my face falling in lust. And with a yarn, I haven’t had that in a long time. It’s soft, it’s stroky, the colourway is gorgeous. And I think it’s going to be a shrug/bolero thing for class.

I mean, seriously, how can you not be in love with this? I just want to stroke it forevermore. This lust is serious, people, serious. I grabbed those last two skeins and raced to the till with them just in case someone came and snatched them from under my eye. Ooh, there’d’ve been tears if that had happened.

I’m not entirely sure two skeins will make a me sized shrug so I invested in that gorgeous purple Duo Classic wook/cotton blend to be on the safe side. A little part of me is a bit scared about knitting up something so gorgeous just in case I can’t do it justice but it is way too pretty to be left forgotten about in a bag.

Now of course I have the problem of wanting to knit ALL OF THE THINGS AT ONCE. Where to start, where to start? Ohhh, maybe I’ll just stroke the yarn a little longer…

5 Comments

Filed under random stuff and nonsense

5 responses to “A spot of yarn lust…

  1. L from NYC

    Like! Like like like! Why just cast one on? I have four ballet projects on the needles and I switch- one for the train, one for tv… my favorite colorways right now I’m calling Nikiya and Giselle.
    My yarn fix and ballet all on one site… Swoon.

    • thepimwithacapitalt

      I had to wind first! And winding really tries my patience – the Zauerball took FOREVER because the middle support fell out about 12 metres in. Also I don’t have much knitting time at the moment because I’m halfway through a Harry Potter reread on my commute and whilst the weather’s nice lunch breaks are for strolling in the park and ‘not in work’ time usually equals ‘ballet time’. There aren’t enough hours in the day! On the upside, I’m going to stay with my parents this weekend which generally affords me a LOT of knitting time so I’ll probably take ALL OF THE YARN and ALL OF THE PROJECTS with me and knit everything at once whilst watching really, really bad man films with my Vati. Excellent.

      I can’t decide if the Manos reminds me more of Cinderella or Beauty. The Zauerball I think I’m going to call Elite Syncopations, it’s quite colourful and jazzy like that.

  2. Start them all! I usually do! Then of course get all cross because I want to finish them all at once! If I look in the corner of the room that is devoted to knitting (because one spare room is not enough space for all my yarn/ fabric/ books as well as a bed) I can probably count about 6 projects all currently in progress! I’m also really glad you went for ballet ribbon cables! 🙂

    • thepimwithacapitalt

      Heheheheh, hello you 🙂

      I’ve cast on the bag and wound for the legwarmers. What I’ll probably do is take ALL OF THE YARN home and start ALL OF THE PROJECTS at the weekend. I need more knitting hours in my day, frankly. But to do that I’d probably have to sacrifice some ballet and I’m not entirely sure I want that 😉

  3. Liz

    Ooooh! Pretty yarn! I agree that you should start them all.

Get to the pointe...

