Mmmmmm, new legwarmers… you can never have too much of a good thing

I confess, I own an absurd number of pairs of legwarmers but quite honestly this does not bother me in the slightest which is exactly why I’ve just finished knitting myself a pair. Having to go home sick from work sucks, it sucks even more when sleep is elusive to try and shake whatever is causing the feeling off and wobbly (rah). So I’ve indulged in a lot of West Wing, taken some more paracetomol and finished my Elite Syncopations legwarmers which is more than I’d’ve achieved had I stayed in the office.

Anyway, the big thing I’ve learned with these is how to make stirrups, woohoo! When I sat down and thought about it, the concept of the afterthought heel seemed to work here (only with a straight cast off rather than actually putting in a heel, obviously!). So here’s how it works:

See the line of purple stitches? Yep, first stage, knit in a row on waste yarn then go back and knit them again then carry on and finish the legwarmer to desired length.

 

 

Once you’ve finished the legwarmer, go back and pick up the stitches either side of the waste yarn row.

 

 

 

 

 

Unpick the waste yarn row using your trusty darning needle.

 

 

 

See, gappy gappy! This is going to be your stirrup once it’s cast off.

 

 

 

Take once more your trusty darning needle and indulge in a spot of a sewn bind off – it’s slightly stretchier than a normal bind off so brilliant for slotting over heels.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Voilà, one pair of legwarmers in a colourway I’ve named Elite Syncopations. Now if you’ll excuse me there’s a large buzzy flying thing taking up residence in my room that I need to remove then I’m going to try eating and have an early night because there is no way on this earth I can be ill tomorrow…

Leave a comment

Filed under random stuff and nonsense

Get to the pointe...

