Knitting pattern: super snug thigh high legwarmers

This is my first attempt at writing up a knitting pattern that I’ve ‘freehanded’ s-oooo… bear with me.

Yarn: Sirdar Crofter, 3 and a half balls (ish)

Needles: 4mm

Finished length: approx 35″, stretch to fit my 30″ish inside leg

Key: k = knit, p = purl, kfb = knit into front & back of stitch (increase 1)

Instructions:

Cast on 40 stitches and join in round (or you could knit flat but that would be one beast of a seam… o_0).

Rows 1-5 k2 p2

Switch to stockinette

Knit ten rows

K9 kfb around to increase to 44

Knit ten rows

Knit half stitches, knit the other half on to waste yarn, go back and reknit these stitches. Knit a further five rows of 44 stitches

K10 kfb around to increase to 48

Knit 50 rows

K11 kfb around to increase to 52

Knit 10 rows

K12 kfb around to increase to 56

Knit 40 rows

K13 kfb around to increase to 60

Knit 30 rows

K14 kfb around to increase to 64

Knit 20 rows

K15 kfb around to increase to 68

Knit 20 rows

K16 kfb around to increase to 72

Knit 20 rows

Knit 17 kfb around to increase to 76

Knit 18 kfb around to increase to 80

Knit 30 rows and bind off, leave long tail. Lay elastic along cast off edge, fold over and seam.

Stirrup:

Pick up stitches either side of waste yarn

Knit two rows in 2×2 rib and bind off in rib

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

(As an aside, because I’m daft I was messing about with my profile/domain names etc and managed to break my URL. If you blogroll me, my URL’s changed slightly… *ahem*)

(Also, my room is the proverbial mess. Sorry ;))

4 Comments

Filed under knitting on pointe

4 responses to “Knitting pattern: super snug thigh high legwarmers

  1. Ooh! *hearts* *goes to Rav heart*

    These will be perfect for my Pilates class…thank you!

    Also…*refollows* Google reader didn’t like your domain name change. Silly google reader.

    • thepimwithacapitalt

      Google reader probably got confused by my changing it about six times in twenty four hours… oops?

      Yes, go queue them on Rav! Immediately! With hearts!

  2. Am wondering if I may indulge in a pair with my mad plan to maybe try ballet again…

  3. Pingback: Legwarmers Part 2: Making Your Own | Adult Ballerina Project

Get to the pointe...

