…do it like a dude/busted.com

Beep. Beep. Beep. Would you just put a sock in it?

Yeah, that would be the microwave telling me that my soup is ready whilst I’m busy trying to get the waltz turn section of the EE straight in my head around the staff room…

I think I’ve sort of got it fixed as well. How dare such mundane things as lunch distract me from finally getting my legs around it*! Does it not knowwwwwwwwwwww?!

I can’t help myself: I’m always practicing when I’m waiting for things. There’s a patch of lino in the staff room that’s perfect for practicing pirouettes on. A good bit of corridor for grands jétés. Waiting for the bus? I’ll be waiting in turn out, probably doing a few rises as well, maybe a couple of tendus. Then there’s the things everyone does, non? Relevé to get on to tiptoe to reach something off a high shelf, penché to pick up off the floor.

That’s normal, isn’t it?

And there’s always that moment where you get caught. “What are you doing?” “Oh, um…” *awkward shuffle, fidget, scratch back of neck, look around as if the person’s talking to someone else* Busted.com. I have no idea why that bothers me so much. Maybe it’s the ‘Bridget Jones Factor’ again, waiting on that moment where you get called out for being amateur…

Bridget never got busted practicing her pliés waiting for the kettle to boil...

*Disclaimer: I have my legs around it now, I won’t come class… 😉

Leave a comment

Filed under I dance (not by Toyota)

Get to the pointe...

