“I have a cunning plan and it involves… pancakes.”

Hahahaha, lol. Last pancake.

So tomorrow is pancake day. Shrove Tuesday. Mardi Gras. Fat Tuesday. Whichever way we look at this, if you’re me it’s all about the pancakes. As a small person, my mother used to make the pancake batter and leave it in the fridge for my father to cook for mine and the brother’s tea when we got in from school. Eventually as we got older, my father learned to make the batter himself as well. I learned to make pancakes at uni from a combination of recipes and with varying success, the best ones usually coming when there had been a significant quantity of alcohol quaffed before we retreated to the kitchen. However, this method did once result in the beautiful statement from my Very Best Friend of “I’m the tosser” – well she was! I did everything but she’d do the tossing, for wont of a better phrase… I don’t toss pancakes on that note, it ends in disaster every time I try and, after a dropped ice cream cone, there is nothing sadder than your pancake on the floor.

Mmmm, batter...

Last year, the pancake affair sort of passed me by in between dieting and obsessively being in ballet class (I imagine I was rather difficult to live with at that point), it just kind of never happened because there wasn’t time. Which, with hindsight, is all kinds of sat because housemate and I always mark the occasion – albeit usually a day early or late or something. We had our pancakes tonight and I thought I’d trial a new recipe – always an occasion for us to clutch on to the edge of our seats. It was, I must say, a complete triumph! There wasn’t even the traditional ‘first pancake disaster’ which, considering the day I’ve had, is some kind of miracle. And on that note, I’m off to watch a lot of Blackadder to cheer myself up.

First pancake triumphant!

Pancakes, well more crepes – butcherised slightly from Silver Spoon (makes 8-10)

  • Self raising flour
  • 2 eggs
  • 250ml milk
  • 25g butter (melted)
  1. Sift flour into bowl. Add eggs and 3-4 tablespoons milk. Mix together into a sort of stiff batter.
  2. Gradually add rest of milk
  3. Melt butter and leave until it’s almost cool then add to batter
  4. Stir well (or if you’re me, cheat and zip it with the electric whisk just to get rid of all the lumps)
  5. Heat oil in frying pan and pour in batter so it lightly covers the pan
  6. Cook on both sides and eat!

Cheesy mushrooms, omnomnom

Leave a comment

Filed under baking and mixing and kitchen stuff

Get to the pointe...

