Teeny tiny person knitting!

I was fairly sure when I started knitting that I’d never knit for babies. People often make the assumption that I’m knitting for babies because that’s what you do, isn’t it? Knit for babies? So I was never going to. Only then suddenly I found myself at that age where people all around me were having babies at an alarming rate. I gave it a whirl but it never really appealed in the same way that knitting my own socks did. Yes, baby knitting is teeny tiny adorably cute and really quick but I just didn’t quite see the point. And then I lost my knitting mojo a bit.

I’m still of an age where everyone around me is having babies and, because I can’t get another pair of socks in my drawer, it seems as good a point as any to start knitting for babies again. I will not never ever knit bootees but I will knit jumpers and cardigans and blankets, maybe hats too, but definitely no bootees ever.

This pattern is amazing. It’s simple, it’s quick and it’s straightforward. The whole thing’s knitted in one piece from the top down (see the pretty raglan increases!) and has an adorable picot cast off (which is probably the most long winded faffy cast off ever but SO PRETTY). I need to put a tie on it yet but that can wait a little while.

I still don’t understand knitting for babies. I just don’t understand how people can ever be that tiny. It doesn’t compute in my brain.

5 Comments

Filed under knitting on pointe

5 responses to “Teeny tiny person knitting!

  1. Lindyb

    Are you on Ravelry?
    I’m opposite … I haven’t finished a whole pair of socks. I finished a single sock but it was for a teeny person and so probably doesn’t count: http://ravel.me/LindyB/d4212
    I’m with you on ordinary booties but making one’s friend’s baby look like a blue-footed booby is an opportunity not to be missed: http://ravel.me/LindyB/r3x2w

    • I am but I’m hopeless at ever remembering to update it these days… I should probably get back into it at some point.

      I’ll go forth and add you now 🙂

  2. Oh my gosh, it IS tiny! Sometimes I forget how little babies are… looks great! So adorable! 🙂 I admire your knitting skills. I have absolutely no idea how knitting works!

    • Isn’t it?! And it alleges to be six month sized. I don’t believe anyone can ever be that tiny AT ALL.

      Knitting is easy once you get the hang of it: in, round, through and off. Then again it did take me about twenty years to get the hang of the ‘through and off’ bit so maybe not…

Get to the pointe...

