Back to the barre: new perspectives

I did it.

Me and my new pink (yes, pink!) shoes went back to class last night and survived to tell the tale.

My technique is shot, my thighs are the size of double decker buses (dancewear, you do not lie in the ‘woah, you got fat’ stakes, thanks)  and I’d forgottent that the post-class come down makes me so jittery that I just want to stay up all night!

My calves are killing me (fail at rise and relevé, ramming them into my calves rather than isolating my hams, bother), so are my shoulders (need to remind them that ‘around my ears’ is not where they reside in class) and my back (need to remember to tilt more into my tendu derrière).

But my soul is happy. And the little voice in the back of my mind is reminding me that I was daft to leave it so long.

Is it next week now?

7 Comments

Filed under I dance (not by Toyota)

7 responses to “Back to the barre: new perspectives

  1. I think the fact that you feel like that means that you left it the perfect amount of time.

  2. Yay Nellie!! I have been waiting for your return to the barre, and hoping you would love it again once you got back! So happy for you..

    The same thing happened to me after I had the good sense to end a three-year long hiatus from ballet. Only I wish it would have been three months, not years.. How daft was that??

    The après-class high I get too well, it takes me at least 4 hours to come down! Which plays havoc with my sleepy-time.. But it’s still worth every jitter! 🙂

  3. How long were you out of class? I had a non-dance related injury that kept me out of ballet for more than 9 months, and it was ROUGH coming back because I had gained a good 30lbs (13 kilos!). Holy cow indeed! Good for you for getting back into it. It’s the best feeling in the whole world!!!

    • Sorry, 13.6 kilos. I suck at conversion. 🙂

    • Three months, even when I was injured and out a couple of years ago it wasn’t for that long. Physical weight wise I’ve only put on a couple of pounds but all the muscle tone I’d built up last year has just gone and my thighs kind of went “pthung *outward splatty motion with hands*” (also I’ve not been watching what I eat which hasn’t helped).

      It feels odd being back at square one but a good kind of odd.

Get to the pointe...

