The drama shoema llama rode into town: a moral tale

I am spending my evening sewing elastics on to my new ballet shoes. No big deal, once I actually get started I’ll have them sewn in about fifteen minutes but I hate sewing so much that I’ll put it off and put it off and put it off until the last possible moment and then get all whiney sweary about how I have to do them nownowNOW and I reallyreallyreeeeeeeeeeeeally hate it. So, of course, I’m doing what any sensible person would do and I’m writing a blog post about it first. There is a moral to the story, however.

The thing is, for many years I was well served by Freed men’s top spin split sole canvas shoes (bottom left). I loved going to Freed, sitting on their ‘thrones’, having my shoes fitted properly and leaving with two pairs in different sizes to deal with the fact that my feet sit just either side of the half size. They fitted like a dream but I couldn’t help constantly wondering ‘what if’, I mean just what if there was a better pair out there for me… So when I went ‘back to the barre’ after my break-ette, I took to the intrawebz and ordered myself the top right pair which are Blochs. From the first wear I knew they were just ‘wrong, all wrong’ but I persisted with them for a few classes just in case but they were still wrong. Back to the drawing board it was then, and I wound up with top left pair – Capezios. Now these I liked, not quite as much as my beloved Freeds but almost. But the problem? I wore them to class twice and discovered the canvas had come away in a giant chunk from the toe sole. Now, I’m pretty hard wearing on my shoes but they tend to last a little longer than two classes. I sent a woe filled e-mail to the supplier (because I’d thrown out my delivery note, the packaging, pulled out the drawstrings to customise them but clearly the problem was a design fault) who told me to send them back and the replacement arrived yesterday. Hopefully they’ll last a little longer this time! I’ve also ordered a pair of So Danca split soles but they haven’t arrived yet, we’ll see when they do. In the interim I’ve gone back to my Freeds for a few classes and the moment I put them on my feet they felt oh so very much right. Moral of the tale? Maybe sometimes it’s best to stick to what you know.

Oh and the bottom right? Those babies are my new tap shoes. It feels fractionally weird because they’re the same brand that I used to wear as a child but I’m pretty much okay with it. I’m sort of apprehensive about going back to tap, I mean what if I’ve built it up in a rose tinted way that it was so awesome when I was a kid because nine weeks out of ten ballet was bog awful? But mostly I’m quite excited to do something else.

On the other hand, none of the above are these beauties:

My entirely impractical but totally fabulous killer heels that make my legs look both amazing and miles long. I can’t wear them for prolonged periods of time, I have to tape my middle three toes together to wear them, I have to go down stairs backwards in them and I certainly can’t walk any distance in them but, hey, when a pair of shoes make a girl’s legs look amazing then what’s not to love? Incidentally, I didn’t attempt to ceilidh in them at my friend’s wedding on Sunday – that was the juncture at which they got kicked under a table…

4 Comments

Filed under I dance (not by Toyota)

4 responses to “The drama shoema llama rode into town: a moral tale

  1. katherinea

    What happens if you don’t tape your toes?

    • They don’t fit properly because they’re narrow and my toes are (a) not and (b) uber wriggly so the toe tape keeps them in control 🙂

  2. I’m curious to see what you think of the So Danca’s when they come. I ordered a pair of those recently and the seam in the heel was ripped right out of the box. I was kind of in a time crunch so I decided to sew them myself rather than having the hassle of returning and getting a new pair. My sewing job didn’t hold up and they ripped open after only wearing them twice. I haven’t bothered to sew them back up again. The place I ordered them from won’t let me exchange them (grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr) since I had already worn them. Anyhow, the heel is a lot lower than other shoes I’ve tried and I haven’t figured out if I’m just not used to it. I mean, I should put on a pair of shoes and not feel them right? Not put them on and think oh, the back of my shoe is lower than usual. So anyhow, let us know if you like the So Dancas!

    • I sure will – if they ever arrive that is! Turns out the supplier I ordered from is notorious for being a bit on the slow side – I should probably check up where they are on that note. I usually need a few wears to know if they’re ‘right’ or not, even my beloved Freeds feel a bit hinky on their first few outings until I’ve got them sorted to my specifications!

Get to the pointe...

