These hills are mine

Having oodles of annual leave carried over from last year for various reasons, I’ve been having time out back in Rural Derbyshire to use it up. Earlier this week there were signs of spring peeking through the gaps and the almost blank emptiness of winter on a rural backdrop. The sky was blue and clear, the hills and oddly bleached shade of green hazily surrounded by that funny winter sunlight. There were my favourite walks and then, so suddenly, it all changed. The temperature crashed down, the sky became heavy and grey and the cold crept in everywhere. But it’s still beautiful, peaceful. These hills are mine, etched firmly on to the inside of my eyelids, their impression there when I close my eyes and still there when I wake. There’s something soothing in their permanence and I feel that I can breathe again.

hills 12hills 11hills 10hills 9hills 8hills 7hills 6hills 5hills 4hills 3hills 2hills 1

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “These hills are mine

  1. Isn’t it beautiful? I felt so much better after getting out in the sunshine and fresh air this week. Nature is wonderful πŸ™‚

  2. Lovely post, but I fear the hills belong to me…

  3. Erin

    Just lovely. I live in a big city and desperately want to move to the country. I envy you πŸ™‚

  4. So beautiful…your pictures look like they come from a storybook. Having grown up in a rural area, I have a soft spot for fields and woods and livestock. Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

    • Heh, my mother and I were only commenting the other day as we watched the post van drive up and down the hills that it looked like the credits from a children’s TV series. I really never learned to love those scenes I grew up with until I wasn’t around them 24/7…

Get to the pointe...

