A post entirely about cake

Feeling shamed into updating after being pimped by the excellent adultbeginner, I hereby bring you a post entirely about cake what I have made lately.

Earlier this year I accidentally got promoted to my first management role, it was an internal promotion so luckily the panel knew me – probably too – well. One of the questions was about how I would lead my team. “Cake,” I said without even thinking about it. I didn’t think the answer needed any further qualification but apparently it did so I made some stuff up and concluded “but I’d still use cake as a first resort.” For weeks after m appointment every time my director rang up he asked if he was missing out on cake…

I once saw a quote that said “a party without cake is just a meeting” so our team meetings are accompanied by cake. It started in conjunction with challenging myself to make one recipe from every cook book in the kitchen – I thought I’d completed said challenge last weekend but I’ve just acquired my Big Gran’s (so named because she was a good foot taller than my Little Gran) Good Housekeeping recipe book which is a beautiful thing…

As are some of the cakes I’ve made of late:

IMG_1561.JPG

IMG_1518.JPG

IMG_1589.JPG

IMG_1606-0.JPG

IMG_1640-1.JPG

IMG_1646-2.JPG

IMG_1677-2.JPG

Okay, a couple of them are biscuits but I still made them with my own fair hands… (And are why I have to take ballet as often as I do or I’d be the size of a house)

Also meringue frosting is the cats whiskers. Absolute bugger to make but so worth it!

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “A post entirely about cake

  1. katherinea

    Cake is an overlooked aspect of leadership.

  2. Oooh, that challenge of cooking a recipe from every book in the kitchen is brilliant. Will see if I can get my husband to take up the gauntlet on that one.
    And I’m so glad I made this post happen! Cake!!!

  3. Oh wow everything looks so good!

Get to the pointe...

